"No one can be lonely who has a book for company." ~ Nelle Reagan

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

2011 Giller Prize Short List

What is the Giller Prize?  "The Scotiabank Giller Prize is Canada’s most distinguished literary prize, awarding $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English. Finalists on the Shortlist receive $5,000. The award was established in 1994 by Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller.  In September 2005, Scotiabank was proud to become the first ever co-sponsor of the prize – and it has been known as the Scotiabank Giller Prize ever since." (2011 Giller Prize Shortlist)

The following have made the Giller Prize short list:

The Cat's Table 
Author:  Michael Ondaatje

Author:  Lynn Coady (a local author!)

The Sisters Brothers
Author:  Patrick Dewitt

Half-Blood Blues: a Novel
Author:  Esi Edugyan

Better Living Through Plastic Explosives
Author:  Zsuzsi Gartner

Free World
Author:  David Besmozgis

Watch the jury announce the short list finalists for the 2011 Giller Prize.

Winner will be announced November 8, 2011.

1 comment:

  1. Hey, you stated in a much more direct way what I was trying to communicate, thanks, I will recommend your site to my friends.

    My site:
    DSL Anbieter klick hier


Hey there! Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate all my visitors and your comments so please introduce yourself, ask or make suggestions. I'd love to hear from you. This blog is a no-award zone. I appreciate the acknowledgment but your kind words are enough.

No spam please!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...