"No one can be lonely who has a book for company." ~ Nelle Reagan

Sunday, March 13, 2011

In My Mailbox (Just received) 3/13/11

In My Mailbox was started by The Story Siren.

The idea behind IMM was not only to put new books on your radar but to also encourage blogger interaction. IMM explores the weekly contents of my mailbox & books bought.

Anyone can participate in IMM and you are not limited to only sharing books that arrive via your mailbox. You can also share books that you've bought or books that you've gotten at the library.

Quicksilver by Joy Spraycar
- A recurring nightmare holds Serry Miller in its grip and has for most of her life. In spite of her fear of the man who becomes a monster, she's in love with him. Not only does she have nightmares while she sleeps, she's living in one with an abusive, alcoholic husband. When, Serry's drunken husband hit's Quinton Worthington's car, she sees the face of the man from her nightmares on a stretcher entering the hospital. When he looks at her and calls her by her name, she is plummeted into a life that she has only dreamed about. Quinton Worthington has suffered for over a hundred years. That's when his evil father ripped Serenity, the love of Quinton's life, from him. At the same time, he changed Quinton into a monster. When Quinton sees Serry's face in the hospital, he believes that Serenity has come back, and he will do anything to be with her. There's only one thing that stands in their way of having the life they want: Quinton's father and the curse of the werewolf.

Animal Stories Daddy Told Us by Innocent Emechete. 
Animal Stories Daddy Told Us is a sixteen chapter collection of African animal stories for children describing day to day activities in animal kingdoms. These animals think, talk and manage their affairs. Like humans they have governments and political intrigues; argue their cases and settle their disputes....an all round entertainer and moral teacher for children and young at heart. It affords children the opportunity to look at real life experience through interactions with animals they already love and trust. Like cartoon stories, children of all ages will have fun with this set of African animal stories with animals interacting in their kingdoms far, far away.

Pursuit of Happiness by Sheldon Greene
The American Revolution is near collapse. Joshua Rutledge, a Quaker and a member of the Rebellion’s first spy organization, the Committee of Correspondence, is sent to the Caribbean to retrieve a desperately needed French arms shipment. He must both locate the arms and persuade a Jewish ship owner to transport them back to America through the British blockade. Rutledge falls for Amelia Sayre, the unconventional wife of a slave owner known for his brutality. From Jewish life in the Caribbean to the birth of the Marine Corps, from slave rebellion to Benedict Arnold’s seducer, Pursuit of Happiness is rich in detail, spiced with romance and action, larded with trenchant dialogue and an abundance of interesting, well-rounded characters. This fact-based page-turner never falters as it moves to a stunning climax. Fans of Patrick O’Brian, Bernard Cornwell, or Daphne Du Maurier should love it.

The Killing Game by J.C. Stevens
The Killing Game is about a Mob hit man forced out of retirement to kidnap and deliver a government witness but instead has a plan of his own to survive...

The Cholesterol Delusion by Ernest N. Curtis M.D.
Approximately one-half of the adult population of the United States are being told that they harbor within their bodies a silent killer. This "killer" is cholesterol. Millions are prescribed cholesterol lowering drugs making these pills the most prescribed (and most profitable) medications in the history of American medicine. They are told that these drugs will protect them from the ravages of heart disease. Dr. Ernest Curtis points out in his new book, The Cholesterol Delusion, that this is patently untrue and can be easily demonstrated by critical analysis of the data presented in the very medical studies that purport to show their benefit.

Sentimental Me by Charles L. Fields

Don't let the nostalgic title Sentimental Me fool you. This fast paced travel mystery is a true gem. It takes Boston lawyer, Charles Stone to Agua Prieta, Mexico to see why a slain U.S. Border Patrol Agent made a woman with known Drug Cartel connections the beneficiary of his $500,000 life insurance policy. Stone was often called in by the Franklin Life Insurance Company to investigate what they referred to as "exotic cases." He recently returned from an assignment in Ireland involving the Real IRA and a notorious international arms dealer. Exposing fraudulent activity almost cost him his life.

Needing a little R&R, he accepted the retainer and hoped the trip to Arizona and the Mexican border city would not be as dangerous, but nothing Franklin Life assigned him had ever been a "piece of cake". This investigative journey, rich in descriptive side events, introduces the reader to murder, drugs, arms smuggling and the powerful people who make it all happen. It is a ride to hell and back.

Reflections of a Successful Wallflower by Andrea Michaels
Andrea Michaels is literally one of the backbones of the special events industry. Launching her business when there was no formalized or defined marketplace, she was and still is a trailblazer, pioneering the way for others to follow. Always on the cutting edge of the business, she has stacked up a pile of firsts (and 50 prestigious awards) in her legendary career - from initiating corporate branding and messaging into events and interactive themes that create experiences for the guests to entering the international market ahead of her colleagues and incorporating never-before-used technology into her events, just to name a few. That alone should make her extraordinary, but she runs much deeper. Noted as one of the most caring and giving educators of our time, she has traveled the world to teach others not just her art and craft but to help them learn from her own mistakes. How did this genius evolve? Why is she so revered by all her peers? What does she know that we don't?

Reflections of a Successful Wallflower can only be compared to reading Andrea's diaries. This first inductee into the industry Hall of Fame shares, openly and candidly, not only the public wunderkind but the inner woman. Discover the workings of one of the foremost event producers in the world. You'll laugh; you'll cry; you'll be in disbelief and fascinated at the same time. She is a storyteller, and her stories and her life are great lessons for everyone.

Now that I have put these titles together in a post, I realize just how much reading I have ahead of me!  Wow!  I hadn't posted my "Just Received" for 2 or 3 weeks so this is somewhat lengthy but there are some  promising reads here!!

1 comment:

Hey there! Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate all my visitors and your comments so please introduce yourself, ask or make suggestions. I'd love to hear from you. This blog is a no-award zone. I appreciate the acknowledgment but your kind words are enough.

No spam please!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...